Phewa & Cluster of 9 Lakes

Phewa & Cluster Of 9 Lakes

Pokhara owes much its popularity to the enchanting fresh-water Cluster of 9 Lakes which include the popular Phewa,  Begnas, Rupa, Khaste, Dipang, Maidi, Gunde, Neurani, Kamalpokhari and Pokhara Seti Catchment, lakes. The lakes give Pokhara its name and also play a vital role in sustaining the biodiversity, ecosystem and the local livelihood. The Pokhara Valley Lake Cluster was listed as Ramsar Site on Feb. 2, 2021. 

On the eastern shore of Phewa Lake is Lakeside or Baidam, a thriving resort town of hotels, restaurants, bars and souvenir shops popular among travelers. Phewa Lake is a great place to relax with various leisure and water activities. Boaters usually also make it a point to visit Taal Barahi Temple dedicated to Ajima or Shakti, on a little strip of island in Phewa Lake. Equally popular are the Begnas and Rupa lakes which are a little out of town and offer refreshing breaks from the city humdrum. Boats can be hired in the lake vicinities. 

Nepal Tourism Board is a national tourism organization of Nepal established in 1998 by an Act of Parliament in the form of partnership between the Government of Nepal and private sector tourism industry to develop and market Nepal as an attractive tourist destination. The Board provides platform for vision-drawn leadership for Nepal’s tourism sector by integrating Government commitment with the dynamism of private sector.

© 2022. Nepal Tourism Board. All rights reserved.

Nepal Tourism Board